“So… I noticed you let your blog go.”

Sadly, yes. I created this space mired in the excitement of turning 50 years old. I envisioned it as a place to narrate the countdown to the big day – August 23, 2012—and the adventure that the first year of claiming “50” promised to be.

What happened? Life happened.

 As promised, I had fabulous celebrations to mark the big day. To the consternation of some, I hosted and paid for them myself. But, hey… I figured a woman of this age should take the bull by the horns, so to speak, and create the celebrations she wants to have to mark her big day. I had an excellent time! And I think my friends did too. The pics speak for themselves. Brews were imbibed, at both 44 Stone and The Broadway Brewery. And we danced to the soundtrack that my music-loving friend, Elizabeth, made for the celebration. Looks like a revival meeting but it’s really just friends celebrating a woman of a certain age!

Image

Then life happened.

  • The demands of my MFA program swept in like a big wave. (I graduated this past January!)

Image

  • I became a Grandma. (For this Grandma, it has meant more psychological work than anything else, as I’m still getting used to the idea of being a mother.)

Image

  • I bought a new house. (Gave up the 1929 Arts and Crafts bungalow for the 1955 walk-out ranch tucked away in the woods at the end of a cul-de-sac.)

Image

  • I lost a very dear friend to breast cancer.

Image

 

Perhaps these are just the usual kinds of things that happen after a woman turns 50. Perhaps this is exactly what turning 50 is all about. So, I let my blog go. Yes—my blog and a few other things, too. But I’m back. Stay tuned!

Image

 

 

About AnnB

On the precipice of turning 50 and then some.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “So… I noticed you let your blog go.”

  1. Cindy Zelman says:

    So glad you’re back to blogging. Can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  2. AnnB says:

    Thanks, Cindy! You’re my inspiration. 🙂

  3. Sioux says:

    Ann–I’m a few years older than you are (I’m on the edge of my double-nickel birthday) and you can believe me or not, but I think as you get further into your 50’s, you will enjoy this phase.

    Congratulations on finding your kid, finding out you’re a grandmother, and finding the courage on Saturday to share your story. It’s a moving one.

    (Your house looks like it’s in a delightful spot.)

    • AnnB says:

      Sioux, Thanks so much for your kind words! So far, I have LOVED my 50s and you give me hope that it will only keep getting better. And thank you, too, for the inspiration and nudge to return to this long-neglected space. I’m happy to be back!

Leave a Reply

